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5 Digital Marketing KPIs to Track and How to Set Them

As a business owner, you probably know that digital marketing is essential for any business in the online era. However, pouring time and resources into a marketing strategy is only smart if you know it’s working.

Marketing metrics are vital for measuring the efficacy of campaigns, but where do you begin? Here are 5 digital marketing KPIs to tracking your marketing campaign success.

1. Click-Through Rate

One of the most common and insightful metrics. Click-through rate is calculated by dividing the number of clicks on your content by the number of views it gets.

If you’re running pay-per-click (PPC) ads, the click-through rate will tell you how relevant or appealing different ads appear to your target market. A high click-through indicates that the market finds your ad relevant.

A ‘good’ click-through rate will depend on your industry and the types of campaigns you’re running. Partner with the best digital advertising agency you can. They will be able to explain realistic rates for your campaign.

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2. Cost Per Acquisition

Cost per acquisition shows the amount of money your company spends on one conversation, or acquisition. This can relate to a sale, sign-up, download, click, or whatever action you want your visitors to take.

Cost per acquisition is calculated by dividing the spending on a marketing campaign by the number of acquisitions. For example, if you spend $500 on a social media campaign and get 10 conversions, your cost per acquisition is $50.

3. Social Media

One of the most powerful digital marketing tools available. Tracking your social media campaigns provides valuable insight.

One simple way to do this is to track growth. This means recording the increase in Instagram followers or Instagram likes with each campaign. You can also track the engagement with individual posts for more in-depth analysis.

There are in-built tools to do this. This indicates how many new viewers have engaged meaningfully with your marketing content.

4. Blog Post Reads

As the king of killer content, blogs shouldn’t just be posted and left to get to work. Tracking the number of reads each piece get can inform the future of your digital marketing campaign.

Your highest-performing blog posts show what content your visitors like best. Analyzing the characteristics of these pieces can help you create more of your best content.

5. Email Marketing

With an incredible ROI of $36 for every $1 spent, email marketing is full of potential. There is also a wealth of digital marketing metrics to track. Use a marketing platform with lots of analytics to feedback this juicy data.

Start by noticing how many of your emails are delivered and then how many are opened. Monitor the click-through and forward rates. Also, record whether any emails trigger a high unsubscribe rate.

Digital Marketing KPIs Add Value

Tracking the progress of your digital marketing KPIs can help you improve your marketing strategy. Try these 5 KPIs to get started and see where it takes your business!

Did you find this helpful? Check out our other tech and marketing content for more inspiration.


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